I just moved to Las Vegas and I am a sex offender, what do I need to do?
This article is not intended as advice for your specific matter. Rather, it is a general article about Nevada law. If you have questions about your particular case, please call Hinds Injury Law Las Vegas at (702) 940-1234. This information is valid as of July 24, 2017.
One of the horrors of being deemed a sex offender is that it follows you for life so it is critically important to hire an experienced criminal defense attorney to defend against such accusations. Once you’re convicted, however, you will have to register as a sex offender. Once you’re registered, your name will be added to databases like the Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department’s searchable database. People can search for offenders and even receive email updates when new names are added in your area.
For people that are moving to Las Vegas or Nevada, they will have to abide by NRS 179D.460. Under NRS 179D.460, a person that is a sex offender and is present for 48 hours or more within a county or incorporated city is deemed a resident offender and has to personally appear to register with the local sheriff after arriving or establishing residence. NRS 179D.441 and 179D.447 requires you to keep the registration current. In theory, this gives a new resident 96 hours to apply for registration, however, this would be a risky interpretation and is not advisable. Failure to abide by the registration requirements, notify law enforcement of a change in residence, employment, or name, or provide accurate information is punishable under NRS 179D.550 as a category D felony and up to 4 years in prison for a first offense and a category C felony and up to 5 years in prison for a second offense within 7 years.
Under NRS 179D.443 you will be required to provide the following in addition to anything required by federal law:
1. Your name and aliases
2. Social security number
3. Address of any location where you will reside;
4. Name and address of any place where you will be working or going to school;
5. The license plate number and description of all motor vehicles registered to or frequently driven;
6. A biological specimen to determine genetic markers;
7. Fingerprints and palm prints;
8. Dates of arrest and convictions; and
9. Status of parole, probation or supervised release.
Under Section 179D.470 of the NRS requires a sex offender to notify the local sheriff if he or she plans to leave the jurisdiction for more then 30 days to notify both the new jurisdiction and old jurisdiction of the address change. Even if the offender doesn’t change addresses, the offender must appear in person at least every year for Tier I offenders, every 6 months for a Tier II offender and 90 days for a Tier III offender under NRS 179D.480.
Is there any way to reduce or eliminate the need to register?
The requirements for registration continue for life for Tier III offenders, 25 years for Tier II offenders, and 15 years for Tier I offenders under NRS 179D.490. However, if the offender is not convicted of a felony for a period of between 10 and 25 years depending on the Tier classification, the offender can petition the court to reduce the time required to register after completing a sex offender treatment program under NRS 179D.490.
Are you or a loved one accused of failing to register? Contact the best Nevada Criminal Defense Attorneys at Hinds Injury Law Las Vegas for a free consultation.
For more information on how https://hindsinjurylawlasvegas.com/ can help you with Sex Offenders Registration, please contact us at (702) 940-1234, or visit us here:
Hinds Injury Law Las Vegas
600 S 8th St Suite 140, Las Vegas, NV 89101