Nevada Driver’s License
*The following article is not intended to advise for your particular matter. It is intended for general information. If you have questions about your specific matter, please contact Hinds Injury Law Las Vegas at (702) 940-1234. This information is valid as of March 8, 2017.
In Nevada, there are several ways the DMV will suspend your license. They are:
1. Too many Points— When you accumulate 12 or more demerit points against your license in a 12-month period.
2. Driving Under the Influence — If breath, blood or urine tests reveal you are driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol, if you refuse to submit to evidentiary testing, or if you are convicted of DUI.
3. Collision with Bicyclist or Pedestrian — If you cause a collision with a person riding a bicycle or a pedestrian.
4. Failure to Appear — If you receive a traffic ticket and do not pay the fine on time or do not appear as required.
5. Security Deposit — If an accident occurs with more than $750 in damage (personal injury or property damage) and you do not have liability insurance. Driver’s license and vehicle registration are suspended.
6. Failure to Maintain Insurance—If you are required to provide proof of financial responsibility because of a license suspension or revocation and do not do so, or;
if you are cited by law enforcement and convicted of failure to maintain insurance, or;
if you have repeated lapses in vehicle liability coverage.
7. Child Support — If you are in arrears in court-ordered child support payments.
8. Graffiti — If you are found guilty of a graffiti violation.
9. Firearms — If a juvenile is found guilty of certain offenses related to firearms.
10. Street Racing — If you are found guilty of participating in, or organizing, an unauthorized speed contest on a public highway.
11. Alcohol and Drugs — If a juvenile is found guilty of buying, drinking or possessing alcohol; or using, possessing, selling or distributing any controlled substance. In addition, the juvenile court judge can order a juvenile not to drive as part of any probation for any type of case.
12. Failure to maintain SR-22— If you are ordered to maintain SR-22 Proof of Financial Responsibility and you fail to do so anytime during the 3 year period from license reinstatement, your license will be suspended.
1. My license was revoked or suspended in another State, can I get a Nevada Driver’s License?
No. I order to be able to get a driver’s license in one State, you must be able to legally drive in all 50 states.
2. I have an out-of-state driver’s license which was suspended for a DUI. Can I apply for a Nevada temporary license?
3. I had a license revoked from another state and now I cannot get a Nevada license. What do I do?
You must first resolve the matter with the state that issued your driver’s license.
4. How many points is my ticket?
Reckless Driving 8
1 – 10 mph over posted limit 1
11 – 20 mph over posted limit 2
21 – 30 mph over posted limit 3
31 – 40 mph over posted limit 4
41 mph or more over posted limit 5
Careless Driving 6
Failure to give information or render
aid at the scene of an accident 6
Following too closely 4
Failure to yield right-of-way 4
Passing a school bus when
signals are flashing 4
Hand-held cellphone use or texting
(2nd and subsequent offenses) 4
Prima Facie speed violation or
driving too fast for the conditions 2
Disobeying a traffic signal or
stop sign 4
Impeding traffic, driving too slowly 2
Failure to dim headlights 2
5. How do I get points removed?
If you have accumulated between 3 and 11 points, you can have 3 removed by attending traffic school as long as the school is not a requirement of a plea bargain with a court. You can attend school once during a 12 month period.
For more information on how https://hindsinjurylawlasvegas.com/ can help you with Nevada Driver’s License, please contact us at (702) 940-1234, or visit us here:
Hinds Injury Law Las Vegas
600 S 8th St Suite 140, Las Vegas, NV 89101